NPI's Cascadia Advocate

Offering commentary and analysis from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, The Cascadia Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's unconventional perspective on world, national, and local politics.

Category Archives: Media & Culture

The airbrushing of the late Rush Limbaugh: A mocking, racist demagogue is depicted as shy, private, and “enormously generous”

Excerpt: For decades, Rush Limbaugh heaped abuse on people as a syndicated practitioner of hate speech. Now he's gone. His contemporaries in right wing media are now trying to memorialize a Rush who never existed.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Leave a comment

WaPo’s Marty Baron retires: An appreciation for one who confronted power with truth

Excerpt: The Marty Barons of this world are essential to an informed citizenry. As the Washington Post put it in a motto adopted under Baron: Democracy dies in darkness.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Other Categories:Appreciations & Remembrances
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Congratulations, KNHC! Seattle’s student-run C89.5 is celebrating its fiftieth anniversary

Excerpt: Read NPI's tribute to the world's longest-running dance music station, based in Seattle at Nathan Hale High School.
Written by:Andrew Villeneuve
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: When “A Libertarian Walks Into a Bear”, nobody wins (except the reader)

Excerpt: Read NPIs review of Matthew Hongoltz-Hetling's book about the New Hampshire town that libertarians tried to turn into a utopia.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Spokesman-Review to ditch endorsements after furious backlash to pro-Trump editorial

Excerpt: Spokane's daily newspaper will stop publishing unsigned editorials and candidate endorsements after its publisher's exhortation to vote for Donald Trump was poorly received.
Written by:Andrew Villeneuve
Other Categories:Elections
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Some takeaways from the final presidential debate between Joe Biden and Donald Trump

Excerpt: This debate was seen by many as a return to civility, but Trump was still full of lies, conspiracy theories and nonsensical claims.
Written by:Ruairi Vaughan
Other Categories:Elections
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Dori Monson indefinitely suspended by Seahawks, KIRO after transphobic tweet

Excerpt: The right wing talk show host is off the air and no longer has a show, at least as of October 2020.
Written by:Andrew Villeneuve
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Brian Stelter’s “Hoax” offers a fresh look at how Fox corrodes democracy

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of a 2020 book examining the destructive influence of Rupert Murdoch's right wing cable channel, in the tradition of Outfoxed, The Republican Noise Machine, and Murdoch's World.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags: , ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Instructive bad reading, Part IV: Dissecting fascism with the help of “Might is Right”

Excerpt: Fourth installment in a series examining a white supremacist text published in 1896 that can help us understand what's happening today. Sometimes, it's in the awfully done that we can see a point of view most clearly.
Written by:David A Johnson
Other Categories:Series & Special Reports, Views & Reviews
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Instructive bad reading, Part III: Dissecting fascism with the help of “Might is Right”

Excerpt: Third installment in a series examining a white supremacist text published in 1896 that can help us understand what's happening today. Sometimes, it's in the awfully done that we can see a point of view most clearly.
Written by:David A Johnson
Other Categories:Series & Special Reports, Views & Reviews
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Instructive bad reading, Part II: Dissecting fascism with the help of “Might is Right”

Excerpt: Second installment in a series examining a white supremacist text published in 1896 that can help us understand what's happening today. Sometimes, it's in the awfully done that we can see a point of view most clearly.
Written by:David A Johnson
Other Categories:Series & Special Reports
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Instructive bad reading, Part I: Dissecting fascism with the help of “Might is Right”

Excerpt: First installment in a series examining a white supremacist text published in 1896 that can help us understand what's happening today. Sometimes, it's in the awfully done that we can see a point of view most clearly.
Written by:David A Johnson
Other Categories:Series & Special Reports, Views & Reviews
Tags: ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Netroots Nation featured panel discusses the Biden-Harris strategy for progressive victory

Excerpt: Staffers from Joe Biden's presidential campaign laid out the case for why progressive organizations and activists should invest in building a relationship with the 2020 Democratic ticket.
Written by:Ruairi Vaughan
Other Categories:Elections
Tags: , ,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Joel Connelly retires from the P‑I; will join NPI’s Cascadia Advocate as a contributor

Excerpt: After nearly half a century of service to the Seattle Post-Intelligencer and its online successor, seattlepi.com, the legendary journalist and columnist has retired. He'll join NPI as a contributor.
Written by:Andrew Villeneuve
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed