NPI's Cascadia Advocate

Offering commentary and analysis from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, The Cascadia Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's unconventional perspective on world, national, and local politics.

Wednesday, December 2nd, 2015

LIVE from Seattle: 36th’s Democratic PCOs choose nominees to succeed Reuven Carlyle

Tonight, the King County Democratic Central Committee (KCDCC) is holding a special nominating caucus consisting of the Democratic PCOs in the 36th Legislative District to draw up a list of names to succeed Reuven Carlyle as State Representative, in the event that he is chosen by the King County Council to take the place of Jeanne Kohl-Welles in the Washington State Senate.

There are two hundred and nineteen Democratic PCOs eligible to vote tonight, and most of them are here at the Swedish Club in Seattle, ready to discharge their constitutional duty. (The process of selecting nominees to fill a legislative vacancy is a process governed by the Washington State Constitution).

One hundred and ninety-two Democratic PCOs have been credentialed to vote tonight so far. That’s over ninety percent turnout for this meeting, which is a very strong showing by the party’s grassroots base. This is a major decision.

King County State Committeeman Javier Valdez has gaveled the meeting to order and we’re about to get started with the business of nominating candidates. But first, the PCOs present here tonight must decide what method they will use to draw up the list of candidates (state party rules provide for two different methods). I’ll continue publishing updates to this post as the meeting progresses.

UPDATE, 7:10 PM: By a vote of thirty-six to one hundred and forty-one, the precinct committee officers have chosen Method #2. Under this method, there will be a single election held to choose the three names on the party’s list, as opposed to three sets of elections (as provided for in Method #1).

UPDATE, 7:12 PM: Reuven Carlyle, David Kaplan, and Liz Campbell have been nominated for the Senate vacancy. David and Liz are standing for the position because the party must send a total of three names to the county council, but neither plans to actively seek the appointment.

UPDATE, 7:17 PM: We have now heard acceptance speeches by Reuven, David, and Liz (in that order). Reuven gave a short but powerful speech thanking precinct committee officers for their past support and pledging to work hard for the district as its Senator. David and Liz talked about their work as activists and thanked the PCOs for the honor of being nominated.

UPDATE, 7:34 PM: Results of the first election, for the Senate vacancy to replace County Councilmember-elect Jeanne Kohl-Welles, were as follows:

  • Reuven Carlyle: 172
  • Liz Campbell: 9
  • David Kaplan: 4

There were two invalid ballots.

UPDATE, 7:38 PM: On to candidate nominations for the expected House vacancy!

  • Joseph Peha nominated Jeff Manson.
  • Tina Podlowski nominated Noel Frame.
  • Nicole Gomez nominated John Burbank.
  • Summer Stinson nominated Sarah Reyneveld.
  • Howard Fox nominated Rene Murry.

We are now moving to candidate speeches.

UPDATE, 8 PM: We have finished with the candidate speeches.

UPDATE, 8:24 PM: Results of the second election, for the House vacancy to succeed Reuven Carlyle in the event he is appointed to the Senate, were as follows:

  • Noel Frame: 55
  • Jeff Manson: 48
  • Sarah Reyneveld: 44
  • John Burbank: 31
  • Rene Murry: 14

The top three vote-getters (Noel, Jeff, and Sarah) will move on to the next round.

UPDATE, 8:45 PM: Results of the second round of the second election, for the House vacancy, were as follows:

  • Noel Frame: 71
  • Jeff Manson: 64
  • Sarah Reyneveld: 54

Sarah Reyneveld came in third place, so she will appear third on the list. We now move to one last runoff between Jeff and Noel.

UPDATE, 9:00 PM: Results of the third round of the second election, for the House vacancy, were as follows:

  • Noel Frame: 99 votes
  • Jeff Manson: 91 votes

Jeff came in second place, so he will appear second on the list. Noel is the winner of the runoff and will be ranked first.

UPDATE, 9:03 PM: Noel Frame just gave a short and moving victory speech.

UPDATE, 9:04 PM: Javier Valdez has adjourned the special nominating caucus.

UPDATE, 9:10 PM: King County Democratic Chair Rich Erwin has called to order a special meeting of the King County Democrats executive board. In a matter of seconds, the thirty-one assembled members of the board ratified the two lists (Reuven Carlyle, Liz Campbell, David Kaplan; Noel Frame, Jeff Manson, Sarah Reyneveld) and promptly adjourned moments later.

POSTSCRIPT: Noel tells NPI she hopes her victory will inspire others to learn from their defeats, pick themselves back up, and give it another shot. “Let this be a strong message to progressive candidates across the state: If you run for office and you lose, run again! Our state needs you!” she said.

Adjacent posts