Offering asides, recommended links, blogworthy quotations, and more, In Brief is the Northwest Progressive Institute's microblog of world, national, and local politics.

Iowa Republican caucus results as of 7:44 PM

Courtesy of Microsoft and Interknowingly, these are the results from the Iowa 2016 Republican precinct caucuses as of 7:44 PM Pacific.

News networks are projecting that Texas Senator Ted Cruz has won the Iowa Republican caucuses. Cruz is trailed by Donald Trump and Marco Rubio.