NPI's Cascadia Advocate

Offering commentary and analysis from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, The Cascadia Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's uplifting perspective on world, national, and local politics.

Tag Archives: Books

Book Review: Left Behind puts the DLC’s failed track record under a microscope

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Left Behind: The Democrats' Failed Attempt to Solve Inequality, by historian Lily Geismer, an associate professor of history at Claremont McKenna College.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Economic Security, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Laboratories of Autocracy puts Republican-run statehouses under a spotlight

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Laboratories of Autocracy: A Wake-Up Call from Behind the Lines, by Ohio Democratic Party Chair David Pepper.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Media & Culture, Party Politics
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Flying Blind examines the bad decisions that led to Boeing’s current crises

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of The 737 MAX Tragedy and the Fall of Boeing, by award-winning Bloomberg reporter Peter Robison.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture, World Commmunity
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Not-so-hidden racism and profit define the sickness of “American Healthcare”

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of The Hidden History of American Healthcare: Why Sickness Bankrupts You and Makes Others Insanely Rich, by Thom Hartmann.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Healthcare, Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: It’s worth “Demystifying Shariah” instead of continuing with our ignorant prejudices

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Demystifying Shariah: What It Is, How It Works, and Why It's Not Taking Over Our Country by Sumbul Ali-Karamali.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Views & Reviews, World Commmunity
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “We See It All” is a good study of current local police capabilities

Excerpt: Read David A. Johnson's review of Economist journalist Jon Fasman's new book exploring elements of technology and practices in modern policing in the United States.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: John Boehner laments his party’s mutation into a cult in new memoir

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of ex-Speaker John Boehner's memoir of his time in U.S. politics. Boehner resigned from the House in October of 2015, five years after assuming power.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: In the U.S., the desire to “Break It Up” is more American than America itself

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Break It Up by Richard Kreitner (Secession, Division, and the Secret History of America's Imperfect Union).
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: When “A Libertarian Walks Into a Bear”, nobody wins (except the reader)

Excerpt: Read NPIs review of Matthew Hongoltz-Hetling's book about the New Hampshire town that libertarians tried to turn into a utopia.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Brian Stelter’s “Hoax” offers a fresh look at how Fox corrodes democracy

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of a 2020 book examining the destructive influence of Rupert Murdoch's right wing cable channel, in the tradition of Outfoxed, The Republican Noise Machine, and Murdoch's World.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “Dawn of the Code War” looks at the modern age’s cyber battlegrounds

Excerpt: Former Assistant Attorney General John P. Carlin and journalist Garrett Graff's book focuses on the new challenges posed by cyber threats to national security.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, National Defense, Technology, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: The Case Against Free Speech centers actual power over abstract principle

Excerpt: Read NPI Literary Advocate David Johnson's review of P.E. Moskowitz's provocatively titled book about the First Amendment, fascism, and the future of dissent.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Juan Williams’ book reminds us there’s more to lose from the Trump regime

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of "What the Hell Do You Have to Lose? Trump's War on Civil Rights," by Fox personality Juan Williams.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: We can still make “A Bright Future” with nuclear energy

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of A Bright Future, a book that discusses how some countries have tackled the climate crisis and how the rest could follow.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Our Environment, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed