NPI's Cascadia Advocate

Offering commentary and analysis from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, The Cascadia Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's unconventional perspective on world, national, and local politics.

Tag Archives: Books

Book Review: “We See It All” is a good study of current local police capabilities

Excerpt: Read David A. Johnson's review of Economist journalist Jon Fasman's new book exploring elements of technology and practices in modern policing in the United States.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: John Boehner laments his party’s mutation into a cult in new memoir

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of ex-Speaker John Boehner's memoir of his time in U.S. politics. Boehner resigned from the House in October of 2015, five years after assuming power.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: In the U.S., the desire to “Break It Up” is more American than America itself

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Break It Up by Richard Kreitner (Secession, Division, and the Secret History of America's Imperfect Union).
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: When “A Libertarian Walks Into a Bear”, nobody wins (except the reader)

Excerpt: Read NPIs review of Matthew Hongoltz-Hetling's book about the New Hampshire town that libertarians tried to turn into a utopia.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Brian Stelter’s “Hoax” offers a fresh look at how Fox corrodes democracy

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of a 2020 book examining the destructive influence of Rupert Murdoch's right wing cable channel, in the tradition of Outfoxed, The Republican Noise Machine, and Murdoch's World.
Written by:Andrew Villeneuve
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “Dawn of the Code War” looks at the modern age’s cyber battlegrounds

Excerpt: Former Assistant Attorney General John P. Carlin and journalist Garrett Graff's book focuses on the new challenges posed by cyber threats to national security.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, National Defense, Technology, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: The Case Against Free Speech centers actual power over abstract principle

Excerpt: Read NPI Literary Advocate David Johnson's review of P.E. Moskowitz's provocatively titled book about the First Amendment, fascism, and the future of dissent.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Juan Williams’ book reminds us there’s more to lose from the Trump regime

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of "What the Hell Do You Have to Lose? Trump's War on Civil Rights," by Fox personality Juan Williams.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: We can still make “A Bright Future” with nuclear energy

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of A Bright Future, a book that discusses how some countries have tackled the climate crisis and how the rest could follow.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Our Environment, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “A Prophet of Peace” and Juan Cole’s New Historicism

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Juan Cole's tome on the Prophet Muhummad.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “Talk on the Wild Side” by Lane Greene shows how language is power

Excerpt: Lane Greene’s Talk on the Wild Side: Why Lan­guage Can’t Be Tamed came across, in its ini­tial read­ing, as a scat­ter­shot col­lec­tion of top­ics relat­ing vague­ly to the way the pro­nun­ci­a­tions, words, and gram­mars of lan­guages will change with time so long as those lan­guages con­tin­ue to live and have peo­ple speak them. What makes the […]
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Fallout: Conspiracy, Cover-Up and the Deceitful Case for the Atom Bomb

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Peter Watson's Fallout, which argues that "the atomic bomb was the unnecessary product of mistrust and deceit between World War II allies".
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture, World Commmunity
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “The Empty Throne” makes a better argument for not having one

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of The Empty Throne: America's Abdication of Global Leadership, by Ivo H. Daalder and James M. Lindsay.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Kissinger is proof the adults in the room were “Reckless”, too

Excerpt: In the Mel Brooks par­o­dy “Space Balls”, the vil­lain­ous char­ac­ter Darth Hel­met brags to Lon­es­tarr, the pro­tag­o­nist, that, “Evil will always tri­umph because good is dumb.” This trope appears in fic­tion often, and some writ­ers rely on it almost entirely. The medieval­ist his­to­ri­an and cul­ture crit­ic Steven Atwell has observed that one of the cen­tral […]
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed