NPI's Cascadia Advocate

Offering commentary and analysis from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, The Cascadia Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's uplifting perspective on world, national, and local politics.

Tag Archives: Books

Book Review: It Was Vulgar & It Was Beautiful relates how art helped combat AIDS

Excerpt: Lowery chronicles the art installations by the collective Gran Fury, including Kissing Doesn’t Kill and All People With Aids are Innocent, while also describing the tragic consequences AIDS was having on the members themselves.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Healthcare, Media & Culture, World Commmunity
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Flipped recounts Georgia progressives’ big 2020 breakthrough

Excerpt: The thrilling victories of the Reverend Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff, which were followed within hours by the January 6th attack on the U.S. Capitol, are richly chronicled in Flipped, a recently published book by the chief political reporter of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Greg Bluestein.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Elections, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Left Behind puts the DLC’s failed track record under a microscope

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Left Behind: The Democrats' Failed Attempt to Solve Inequality, by historian Lily Geismer, an associate professor of history at Claremont McKenna College.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Economic Security, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Laboratories of Autocracy puts Republican-run statehouses under a spotlight

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Laboratories of Autocracy: A Wake-Up Call from Behind the Lines, by Ohio Democratic Party Chair David Pepper.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Media & Culture, Party Politics
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Flying Blind examines the bad decisions that led to Boeing’s current crises

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of The 737 MAX Tragedy and the Fall of Boeing, by award-winning Bloomberg reporter Peter Robison.
Written by:Alexa Moormeier
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture, World Commmunity
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Not-so-hidden racism and profit define the sickness of “American Healthcare”

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of The Hidden History of American Healthcare: Why Sickness Bankrupts You and Makes Others Insanely Rich, by Thom Hartmann.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Healthcare, Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: It’s worth “Demystifying Shariah” instead of continuing with our ignorant prejudices

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Demystifying Shariah: What It Is, How It Works, and Why It's Not Taking Over Our Country by Sumbul Ali-Karamali.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Views & Reviews, World Commmunity
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “We See It All” is a good study of current local police capabilities

Excerpt: Read David A. Johnson's review of Economist journalist Jon Fasman's new book exploring elements of technology and practices in modern policing in the United States.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: John Boehner laments his party’s mutation into a cult in new memoir

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of ex-Speaker John Boehner's memoir of his time in U.S. politics. Boehner resigned from the House in October of 2015, five years after assuming power.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: In the U.S., the desire to “Break It Up” is more American than America itself

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Break It Up by Richard Kreitner (Secession, Division, and the Secret History of America's Imperfect Union).
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: When “A Libertarian Walks Into a Bear”, nobody wins (except the reader)

Excerpt: Read NPIs review of Matthew Hongoltz-Hetling's book about the New Hampshire town that libertarians tried to turn into a utopia.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Brian Stelter’s “Hoax” offers a fresh look at how Fox corrodes democracy

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of a 2020 book examining the destructive influence of Rupert Murdoch's right wing cable channel, in the tradition of Outfoxed, The Republican Noise Machine, and Murdoch's World.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “Dawn of the Code War” looks at the modern age’s cyber battlegrounds

Excerpt: Former Assistant Attorney General John P. Carlin and journalist Garrett Graff's book focuses on the new challenges posed by cyber threats to national security.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, National Defense, Technology, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: The Case Against Free Speech centers actual power over abstract principle

Excerpt: Read NPI Literary Advocate David Johnson's review of P.E. Moskowitz's provocatively titled book about the First Amendment, fascism, and the future of dissent.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed