NPI's Cascadia Advocate

Offering commentary and analysis from Washington, Oregon, and Idaho, The Cascadia Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's unconventional perspective on world, national, and local politics.

Tag Archives: Books

Book Review: In the U.S., the desire to “Break It Up” is more American than America itself

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Break It Up by Richard Kreitner (Secession, Division, and the Secret History of America's Imperfect Union).
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Leave a comment

Book Review: When “A Libertarian Walks Into a Bear”, nobody wins (except the reader)

Excerpt: Read NPIs review of Matthew Hongoltz-Hetling's book about the New Hampshire town that libertarians tried to turn into a utopia.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Brian Stelter’s “Hoax” offers a fresh look at how Fox corrodes democracy

Excerpt: Read Joel Connelly's review of a 2020 book examining the destructive influence of Rupert Murdoch's right wing cable channel, in the tradition of Outfoxed, The Republican Noise Machine, and Murdoch's World.
Written by:Joel Connelly
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “Dawn of the Code War” looks at the modern age’s cyber battlegrounds

Excerpt: Former Assistant Attorney General John P. Carlin and journalist Garrett Graff's book focuses on the new challenges posed by cyber threats to national security.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, National Defense, Technology, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: The Case Against Free Speech centers actual power over abstract principle

Excerpt: Read NPI Literary Advocate David Johnson's review of P.E. Moskowitz's provocatively titled book about the First Amendment, fascism, and the future of dissent.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Civil Liberties, Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Juan Williams’ book reminds us there’s more to lose from the Trump regime

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of "What the Hell Do You Have to Lose? Trump's War on Civil Rights," by Fox personality Juan Williams.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: We can still make “A Bright Future” with nuclear energy

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of A Bright Future, a book that discusses how some countries have tackled the climate crisis and how the rest could follow.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Our Environment, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:,
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “A Prophet of Peace” and Juan Cole’s New Historicism

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Juan Cole's tome on the Prophet Muhummad.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “Talk on the Wild Side” by Lane Greene shows how language is power

Excerpt: Lane Greene’s Talk on the Wild Side: Why Lan­guage Can’t Be Tamed came across, in its ini­tial read­ing, as a scat­ter­shot col­lec­tion of top­ics relat­ing vague­ly to the way the pro­nun­ci­a­tions, words, and gram­mars of lan­guages will change with time so long as those lan­guages con­tin­ue to live and have peo­ple speak them. What makes the […]
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Fallout: Conspiracy, Cover-Up and the Deceitful Case for the Atom Bomb

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of Peter Watson's Fallout, which argues that "the atomic bomb was the unnecessary product of mistrust and deceit between World War II allies".
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Core Encyclopedia Topics, Media & Culture, World Commmunity
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: “The Empty Throne” makes a better argument for not having one

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of The Empty Throne: America's Abdication of Global Leadership, by Ivo H. Daalder and James M. Lindsay.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Kissinger is proof the adults in the room were “Reckless”, too

Excerpt: In the Mel Brooks par­o­dy “Space Balls”, the vil­lain­ous char­ac­ter Darth Hel­met brags to Lon­es­tarr, the pro­tag­o­nist, that, “Evil will always tri­umph because good is dumb.” This trope appears in fic­tion often, and some writ­ers rely on it almost entirely. The medieval­ist his­to­ri­an and cul­ture crit­ic Steven Atwell has observed that one of the cen­tral […]
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: In “10 Strikes”, historian Erik Loomis demonstrates how American labor’s fortunes are inseparable from U.S. politics

Excerpt: This is a good book in all the ways a history book can be good. You should buy it. You should read it. You should gift it to your friends and family, and stuff extra copies in Tiny Libraries you come across.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed

Book Review: Hilarie Gamm’s “Billions Lost” sadly has nothing useful or progressive to say

Excerpt: Read NPI's review of "Billions Lost: The American Tech Crisis and the Roadmap to Change" by Hilarie T. Gamm.
Written by:David A Johnson
Categories:Media & Culture, Views & Reviews
Other Tags:
Bookmark:Permalink | Comments closed