Offering daily news and analysis from the majestic Evergreen State and beyond, The Advocate is the Northwest Progressive Institute's unconventional perspective on world, national, and local politics.

LIVE from Olympia: Washington’s electors meet to vote for Barack Obama and Joe Biden

Good afternoon from Olympia! Eve and I are here at the Washington State Capitol Campus to witness one of many Electoral College meetings taking place across the United States. Twelve individuals, chosen by the Washington State Democratic Party, are here to cast votes for president and vice president on behalf of the people of the State of Washington, who chose Barack Obama and Joe Biden for those positions in the just concluded presidential election.

The meeting will be held in the State Reception Room of the Legislative Building. We have just arrived and will be providing live updates throughout the next hour.

UPDATE, 12:02 PM: The meeting has been called to order by Secretary of State Sam Reed. All of the Democratic electors are here, so none of the alternates will be seated. The electors (and again, there are a total of twelve) are:

  • 1st District: Grifynn Clay of Snohomish;
  • 2nd District: Dave Gossett of Mountlake Terrace;
  • 3rd District: Kathleen Lawrence of Vancouver;
  • 4th District: George Fearing of Kennewick;
  • 5th District: Rick Lloyd of Spokane Valley;
  • 6th District: Gail Kirk of Tacoma;
  • 7th District: Maria Ehsan of Seattle;
  • 8th District: Elizabeth Satiacum of Olympia;
  • 9th District: Georgia Spencer of Seattle;
  • 10th District: Harvey Brooks of University Place;
  • At Large: Heather Fralick
  • At Large: Alec Stephens

UPDATE, 12:05 PM: Governor Chris Gregoire has just spoken, paying tribute to Reed for many years of service on behalf of the people of the State of Washington. Both Gregoire and Reed are leaving office in January, ending decades of public service. They will be succeeded by Jay Inslee and Kim Wyman, respectively.

UPDATE, 12:08 PM: The electoral college voters have elected at-large elector Heather Fralick as the chair for the meeting.

UPDATE, 12:12 PM: Time to vote for president! Each elector is signing their names to several sheets of paper, for records of today’s proceedings will be sent to Congress, to the National Archives, and kept by our very own Secretary of State.

UPDATE, 12:20 PM: Washington’s twelve electoral votes officially go to Barack Obama for the office of President of the United States of America!!

UPDATE, 12:23 PM: Voting for vice president has begun.

UPDATE, 12:28 PM: Washington’s twelve electoral votes officially go to Joe Biden for the office of Vice President of the United States of America!

UPDATE, 12:32 PM: We are almost done. The electors just have to agree to adopt the minutes and then adjourn. Each elector will pose for a photograph with Washington Secretary of State Sam Reed.

UPDATE, 12:42 PM: Several of the electors are delivering brief remarks putting Barack Obama’s presidency in historic perspective.

UPDATE, 12:44 PM: The meeting is adjourned. Electors and alternates will now pose for photos.